Mercoledì, 29 Novembre 2023

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me
Serafino Paternoster

Serafino Paternoster

Ecocnews Founder, Journalist, repentant jazz guitarist, music critic and film lover.

For the first time, the European Capitals of Culture decided to officially present all together and in a symbolically very important place like the European Parliament, in Brussels.

Two initiatives dedicated to two great Slovenian architects. One in Nova Gorica, ecoc 2025, the other in Matera.

Budva 2028, Earth, Sunlight, Water

Lunedì, 21 Agosto 2023

In 2028, it will be France, the Czech Republic, with Budweis, and one of the two EFTA/EEA countries, Northern Macedonia and Montenegro, who will designate the European Capital of Culture. Budva and Skopje have been shortlisted in the competition for the title of European Capital of Culture 2028 in an EFTA/EEA country, candidate country or potential candidate.

The picture of the next European Capitals of Culture is becoming more and more defined.

Having seen which Swedish cities are preparing to apply to become European Capital of Culture in 2029, we now see what the situation is in Poland, the other state that, together with Sweden, will have to nominate the ecoc. For Poland the deadline for submitting an application is September 2023.

In 2027, the European capitals of culture will be Liepaja (Latvia) and Evora (Portugal). Liepāja is a state city in western Latvia, located on the Baltic Sea. It is the largest city in the Kurzeme Region and the third-largest city in the country after Riga (European capital of culture in 2014) and Daugavpils. It is an important ice-free port.

While the list of European Capitals of Culture in 2028 is gradually becoming clearer after the nomination of Budweis, from the Czech Republic, and the four French cities still on the short list, there is still a lot of uncertainty among the cities in the running for the 2029 capital.

The three European Capitals of Culture for 2024, Bad Ischl (Austria), Tartu (Estonia) and Bodo (Norway) have announced on their websites and social channels the dates of the opening ceremonies of their cultural programmes.

After Praga in 2000, Plzen in 2015, Budweis (České Budějovice) will be the European Capital of Culture in 2028 for the Czech Republic. The other city in competition was Broumov.

In 2030 there will be three countries to designate the European Capital of Culture: Cyprus, Belgium and one of the candidate countries to join the European Union.

Pagina 1 di 8