Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Portugal 2027, four cities in the race: Aveiro, Braga, Évora, Ponta Delgada

Lisboa Lisboa

The president of european panel for the pre-selection of ECoC applicants in Portugal, Beatriz Garcia, announced the names of the cities that will continue the race to become the European capital of culture in 2027 for Portugal in a press conference this afternoon. Four cities have entered the short list: Aveiro, Braga, Évora, Ponta Delgada

Instead, the following cities and communities stop at the starting line: Coimbra, Faro, Funchal, Guarda, Leiria, Oeiras, Viana do Castelo and Vila Real.

In the past, Portugal has received the title three times: Lisbon, in 1994, Porto in 2001, and Guimarães in 2012.

EcocNews has already made a stop in the four cities entered in the short list.

If you want to know more click below:




Ponta Delgada


In the coming weeks we will tell you even more about the four Portuguese cities.

Serafino Paternoster

Ecocnews Founder, Journalist, repentant jazz guitarist, music critic and film lover.

Latest Tweets

RT @LEEDS_2023: 📣 Last chance to book your place on @WMFEvents 'The role of arts and culture in levelling up regions and communities' wher…
Portugal 2027, The countdown has started The visits of the evaluation panel to the four cities of Portugal that ha… https://t.co/vSsxCjTlWG
RT @Castellani_: Remise des armoiries de la ville de Bastia à Antone Ciosi par @Cita_Bastia ! Un immense artiste au service de la Corse.…